finding-ness

Finding-ness” is not a word. It is the reality I was hit with this morning.

Years ago, me and my best friend went to watch a movie called, “you, me and Dupree”.

In that movie Owen Wilson (Dupree) talks about finding your “ness”. We got the lesson about this “ness” meaning what makes you “you”. Ness was a word for us to talk about for a while. Today he again reminded me of “ness”.

It has been over 8 months I started writing on regular basis. And in past 2 months I couldn’t do it as much or almost any of it. Now, when I am trying to get back to online writing he makes me realize that I am missing my “ness”.

In his email he reminded me in form of a polite complain, that there are no more “speedy sparks” cartoons. He nodded affirming quietly from 12,000 kilometres away when I asked him, “Do you think something is missing?” 

I was missing my “ness”. Perhaps I still am missing my “ness”.

So, shall I take a break and give up writing? No, that would only make things worse.

Now, he has me thinking, what I did before that I am not doing anymore. I used to carry a small writing pad everywhere I go. I will note down a topic in the center of a page. I will start thinking around that thought and keep writing all those thoughts into what looked like small bubbles popping out of the central thought. I remember there were times when within an hour or so I would have 10 pages filled out just with the ideas of what to write about. How will I bring my “ness” back into my writing is my challenge. But, here is yours for today.

Think –

Are you missing your ness?

Where is your ness fading away lately?

Why is it fading away?

What used to make you “YOU”?

If I hit my target right and if I am lucky enough, then I will have this read by people who really need to realize that they are losing their “Ness”. Bring that ness back in game. Think of all the reasons that got you the job that you love. Think of satisfying your customers you used to a year ago. Think of all the reasons why your ness is running away from you. Fight for your “ness”. Your ness builds you the stronger you.

There are some dedicated readers out there who seeks inspiration daily. Then there are some beginner level writers out there like me, who may fall short in trying but do not stop because they realize how inspiring someone can make a whole lot of a difference. And then there are friends like the one I have who inspire the “inspiring writers”. He always did that right. I can tell he has his “Ness”.

Let your Ness rain all over the place. Take your ness with you, wherever you go. Your ness makes you, “you”. Hit the pause button. Look for your ness.

Everyday you wake up to give your best. If you are not ready to give your best, you still would have to drag yourself through the day, earning the bonus of feeling “extra tired”. If acting like a 11-year-old kid makes you “you”, yet helps you seal the deal then be it, without being afraid of being judged or criticized.

Do what you are good at. Do it the way, you are best at.

If you can just be yourself, then you have to be original because there’s no one like you. 
– Marc Newson

One thought on “finding-ness

  1. Pingback: MEANING-LESS-NESS « Shafiq Haider Virk

Leave a Reply

